The last game decided the five Premier League title contenders

As the 2023/2024 Premier League season reaches its gripping climax, the fate of the championship hangs in the balance until the final moments of the final matchday on 19 May 2024.

The battle for Premier League glory will be decided in the final game of the season, delivering unforgettable moments of drama, tension and joy.

PUNCH Online turns back the clock in this report, taking a deep dive into five recent nail-biting title deciders that kept fans on the edge of their seats until the very end.

Thirteen-time champions Arsenal and Manchester City sit atop the Premier League table as they aim to win a 10th title and potentially make history with a record fourth straight win.

Liverpool have always been strong contenders in the title race until recently when they faltered and fell down the ladder.

The Reds are aiming to win a 20th Premier League trophy and aim to equal the record held by rivals Manchester United.

These two powerhouses prepare for glory in their relentless pursuit of supremacy.

Here are five situations in which the final game of the season decided the championship:

  • 2020/2021 season (Manchester City)

In the 2020/2021 season, the Premier League championship battle has entered the final minute. Manchester City and Liverpool have been stalemate until the final whistle of the last game. Manchester City ended the season with 93 points, just one more than Liverpool’s 92 points.

With 10 games going on at the same time, Liverpool fans are anxiously hoping that Manchester City can take on Wolves and give them a chance.

In a tense game, the Wolves scored in the 3rd minute to take an early lead.

However, Liverpool, playing at home, equalized the score before half-time to keep their hopes alive. In the 80th minute, the game took a dramatic turn. Liverpool scored two goals at the last moment and won 3-1.

At the same time, Manchester City played against Aston Villa. After falling behind by two goals, it took until the 76th minute to get a goal back.

As time ran out, Manchester City launched an amazing counterattack, scoring three goals in just five minutes and turning the situation around in the 81st minute.

rtc-config='{“vendor”:{“aps”:{“PUB_ID”:”600″,”PUB_UUID”:”d02f0482-a50f-427c-ac01-9856371f1f6b”,”PARAMS”:{“amp”: ” 1″}} }}’>

In the end, Manchester City won 3-2 and won the championship in a thrilling manner.

The dramatic ending showcased the resilience and determination of both teams. Despite this, Manchester City won the title in the end, ensuring their status as the top team in the Premier League for the 2020/2021 season.

  • 2018/2019 season (Manchester City)

But for Gabriel Jesus’ 94th-minute goal in the final game of the season against Southampton at St. Mary’s Stadium, Liverpool would have beaten Brighton 4-0 to claim the title.

In the end, only one thing decides everything.

Manchester City were crowned Premier League champions with 98 points, just one point ahead of the Reds, who have 97 points in the fierce title race.

  • 2013/2014 season (Manchester City)

On Sunday 11 May 2014, Manchester City defeated West Ham United 2-0 to end the season with 86 points, winning their fourth league title and second Premier League title.

Liverpool finished a commendable second place in the Premier League, just two points behind champions Manchester City.

Their final-day victory over Newcastle United marked the culmination of a remarkable campaign and represented the club’s closest approach to winning the league title since 1990.

However, in the 2019/2020 season, Liverpool ended their decades-long wait for Premier League glory. With their outstanding performance, they won the Premier League championship for the first time, ending a 30-year championship drought. In the end, they scored 99 points, better than the second place. 18 points higher.

  • 2011/2012 season (Manchester City)

In the 2011/2012 season, Manchester City won their first league title in 44 years with a stunning victory over Queens Park Rangers, leaving a deep impression on football history. The stakes are high as City need a win to move above city rivals Manchester United on goal difference.

The two teams battled to 89 points. Manchester City led Manchester United with a goal difference advantage (+8) and achieved a historic goal difference victory, which is rare in the Premier League. The dramatic climax was staged at the Etihad Stadium as Manchester City came back from behind with a score of 2-1.

The iconic moment came just 90 seconds before the final whistle when Sergio Agüero scored a historic winner to lift Manchester City to their first league title since 1967-68. .

Meanwhile, United had their own battle at the Stadium of Light, with Rooney scoring the only goal in the 20th minute. United remained optimistic about their chances until Manchester City’s stunning comeback sealed their fate.

  • 1988/1989 season (Arsenal)

In the 1988/1989 season, Arsenal defeated Liverpool and left an indelible mark on football history.

rtc-config='{“vendor”:{“aps”:{“PUB_ID”:”600″,”PUB_UUID”:”d02f0482-a50f-427c-ac01-9856371f1f6b”,”PARAMS”:{“amp”: ” 1″}} }}’>

After 18 years of anticipation, Arsenal won their first league title in stunning fashion, narrowly overtaking defending champions Liverpool.

In a tense duel at Anfield, Arsenal won 2-0 to seal the championship on goal difference.

Michael Thomas’ late goal sealed the crucial moment and his name is forever etched in football folklore.

PUNCH Online reported that Arsenal last won the title 20 years ago, in 2003/2004, when they were called “Invincible”. They remain undefeated in the league.

City face Tottenham Hotspur at Hartland Stadium on Tuesday and face another London side, West Ham United, at the Etihad Stadium on the final day.

At the same time, Arsenal will also face Everton at the Emirates Stadium.

In the annals of Premier League history, these five gripping title battles stand as the latest monuments to the sheer intensity and passion of English football.

From Manchester City’s stunning comeback to Arsenal’s historic victory at Anfield, the climax of each season has brought unforgettable moments etched in the collective memory of fans around the world.

As the 2023/2024 season draws to a close, the echoes of these epic battles remind football fans of the indomitable spirit and determination that define this beautiful round-skinned game.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *