Premier League Golden Glove Award Winner: David Raya wins the Premier League Golden Glove Award for the 2023-24 season

David Raya will not be among the top contenders for the Premier League Golden Glove, meaning the Arsenal star and Brentford loanee will at least share in the award given to the goalkeeper with the most clean sheets in the Premier League each season .

Raya is the 11th winner of the award in 20 seasons.

Ilya Adebayor’s goal against Everton’s Jordan Pickford on Friday ensured the Toffees goalkeeper would not keep a clean sheet, denying Pickford a chance to overtake Raya sex.

[ MORE: Premier League table — Standings from 2023-24 season ]

Ironically, the 28-year-old Spaniard shut out Everton on his Arsenal debut and then kept the Gunners side zero points on 13 other occasions.

Raya subsequently shut out Sheffield United, Brighton and Manchester City twice, as well as Bournemouth, Crystal Palace, West Ham United, Burnley, Luton Town, Wolves and Chelsea scored.

Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsdale has kept two more clean sheets in the Gunners’ six games, one against Raya’s parent club and the other against Crystal Palace in week two.

Raya will be available against Bournemouth on Saturday, Manchester United in Week 37, Everton against Pickford on Sunday, or if Pickford allows Sheffield United or Raya’s Gunners to score. Get the only honor.

Premier League Golden Glove winners list

Year, goalkeeper, club, clean sheets

2004-05: Cech, Chelsea (24)
2005-06: Pepe Reina, Liverpool (20)
2006-07: Pepe Reina, Liverpool (19)
2007-08: Pepe Reina, Liverpool (18)
2008-09: Edwin van der Sar, Manchester United (21)
2009-10: Cech, Chelsea (17)
2010-11: Joe Hart, Manchester City (18)
2011-12: Joe Hart, Manchester City (17)
2012-13: Joe Hart, Manchester City (18)
2013-14: Cech, Chelsea, Wojciech Szczesny, Arsenal (16)
2014-15: Joe Hart, Manchester City (14)
2015-16: Cech, Chelsea (16)
2016-17: Thibaut Courtois, Chelsea (16)
2017-18: David De Gea, Manchester United (18)
2018-19: Alisson Becker, Liverpool (21)
2019-20: Ederson, Manchester City (16)
2020-21: Ederson, Manchester City (19)
2021-22: Ederson (Manchester City) and Alisson Becker (Liverpool) (20)
2022-23: David De Gea, Manchester United (17)
2023-24: David Raya, Arsenal

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *