Premier League, Women’s Super League, EFL, Scottish Football: Highs, Lows and European Qualifiers

illustrate, On April 16, Portsmouth and Stockport both won the EFL divisional championship.

BBC Sport outlines promotion and relegation issues in England and Scotland as well as European qualification for the 2023-24 season.

super league

The top four teams will qualify for the Champions League group stage. (If England is one of the two countries with the highest UEFA scores in 2023-24, there may be an extra spot.)

The fifth-placed team in the Premier League will qualify for the Europa League group stage along with the FA Cup winner. If the FA Cup winner has qualified for the Champions League, a Europa spot will return to the league.

With Manchester City, Arsenal and Liverpool all finishing no worse than fifth and, at worst, qualifying for the Europa League, the Europa League spot Liverpool earned by winning the Carabao Cup will return to the league.

If Aston Villa wins the Europa League but fails to qualify for the Champions League, they will qualify for the Europa League group stage.

The bottom three teams will be relegated to the Championship, with Sheffield United’s relegation likely to be confirmed this weekend.

The relegation situation could be complicated by appeals from Everton and Nottingham Forest who were docked points for breaching the Premier League’s Profitability and Sustainability Rules (PSR).

women’s premier league

The WSL champion and runner-up will advance to the second round of the Champions League, and the third-place team will advance to the first round. Chelsea, Manchester City and arsenal A Champions League spot has been confirmed.

The bottom team will be relegated to the Women’s Championship. That could well be Bristol City, who are seven points adrift with three games remaining.


The top two teams will automatically advance to the Premier League, while the next four teams will enter the play-offs. Automatic promotion teams are Leicester City, Leeds United, Ipswich Town and Southampton, all of whom have at least one play-off spot. Leicester City could advance and even win the title next weekend.

The bottom three teams will be relegated to the First Division. Rotherham United On April 5, they lost 1–0 to Plymouth and became the first EFL team to be relegated. Huddersfield or Birmingham could face them on Saturday, with the two teams competing against each other.

League One

illustrate, Portsmouth advance and win the title with just two games remaining at Fratton Park

portsmouth On April 16, the team defeated Barnsley 3-2 and automatically advanced to the English Championship as champions.

The second automatic spot will go to runners-up Derby County unless they lose their last game and Bolton win by four goals, meaning the Trotters will finish second.

The losing team will play a play-off against Peterborough and two other teams (two from Barnsley, Lincoln, Oxford United or Blackpool).

The bottom four teams will be relegated to League Two. Carlisle United They were relegated after losing 0-2 to Northampton on April 6. port vale He joined them on April 20, the same day as the 2-0 defeat to Bolton Wanderers fleetwood town The defeat came despite beating Leyton Orient 1-0. The final places will be awarded to Cheltenham, Burton or Cambridge on the final day of the season.

Alliance 2

illustrate, Stockport celebrated their Championship win with a flag in memory of George Thompson, the teenage Hats fan who died in 2021

The final promotion spot will be awarded to the winner of the play-off between the two teams. Milton Keynes Downs and three other teams – three from Doncaster, Crewe, Barrow, Crawley, Bradford and Walsall.

The bottom two teams will be relegated to the National League. forest green rangers On April 16, Colchester defeated Grimsby 2-0 and relegation was confirmed. Sutton will join them unless they win their last game and Colchester lose their last game with a goal difference of four goals.

national league

illustrate, Chesterfield are the first team from England or Scotland to be promoted to the major leagues

chesterfield On March 23, the team defeated Boreham Wood 3-0 to win the championship and automatically advance to the EFL after a six-year absence.

Gateshead were banned from the play-offs after failing to qualify for EFL membership. So in the semifinals, Barnett host solihull moorsalthough Bromley Meet altrinchamthe overall champion gets the second place promotion spot.

The bottom four teams will be relegated to National League North or South and replaced by the champions and play-off winners of those two divisions.

The Premier League is split in half after 33 games, with both sides playing in their own “half” for the fourth and final time.

The champion will advance to the Champions League group stage, and the runner-up will advance to the third qualifying round. Celtic are already guaranteed a place in the Champions League and Rangers are set to join them.

With these clubs also participating in the Scottish Cup final, the Europa League spots reserved for the cup winners will revert to the league.

Therefore, the third-placed team in the Premier League will participate in the Europa League play-offs, the fourth-placed team will participate in the second qualifying round, and the fifth-placed team will participate in the second qualifying round of the Europa League.

The team at the bottom of the Premier League will be relegated to the Scottish Championship, while the 11th-placed team will play a play-off against the three Championship teams.

Scottish Championship

The winner – Dundee United or Rice Wanderers – will be promoted to the Scottish Premiership. In fact, United are ahead unless they lose their last two games and Rice wins his last two games while making up for the 36-goal difference.

Teams that do not win the championship will enter the play-offs Partick thistle, Airdryonian and the 11th-placed team in the Premier League.

bottom ArbroathOn 13 April, Ayr United suffered a 5-0 defeat, confirming their relegation to the First Division. The ninth-placed team will play play-offs against three league teams.

Scottish First Division

illustrate, Falkirk secures title after Hamilton failed to win earlier in the day

champion Falkirk Hamilton defeated Queen of the South 7-1 at Montrose on 30 March, having previously drawn 0-0 with Hamilton, to automatically qualify for the Scottish Championship.

hamilton academic college, aloa athletics Another team will play a play-off against the ninth-placed team in the Championship.

bottom club edinburgh city On March 16, the team lost 5–2 to Alloa, becoming the first team in England or Scotland to be relegated. The ninth-placed team will play a play-off against three League Two teams.

Scottish Second Division

illustrate, Stenhousemuir’s victory was the first league title in the club’s history

stenhousemuir On March 6, after a 0-0 draw with East Fife County, they were automatically promoted to League One as champions. Peterhead, Dumbarton and Spartans There will be a play-off match against the ninth-placed team in the league.

The bottom team – Clyde, Stranraer or Bonnyrigos – will advance to the play-offs against the Highland League champions in a two-legged tie between them (April 27 and May 4 ) winner Bucky thistle and Lowland League Champions East Kilbride. The overall champion will receive the final spot in League Two for the 2024-25 season.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *